Welcome to Sighișoara
Transylvania Perigrinul wonderful journey through these lands, now in the heart of the country, arrived in Pearl `Transylvania`, has to choose from a variety of sights on the most representative.
On the way to the Citadel, on the left, is memorial house and bust of the great scientist Hermann Oberth (1894-1989). He was born in Sibiu, in 1894, his family following his father Julius Sighisoara where they practice the medical profession (Municipal Hospital is one of the founders). For eight years he taught at the Hill Gymnasium, after which the happenings of World War I, studying in Munich and return home Neidelberg.Se his activity as professor in Sighisoara and Medias. From here you climb to the main gate, located in the city symbol to the left, following the route walls of this city with a total length of 930 meters, of the 14 towers that we had in the heyday, were left standing in September . first is the Clock Tower.
Clock Tower. Symbol of Sighisoara
Clock Tower was originally a gate tower with a maximum of two levels. In its current form measures about 64 m high and is a rectangular prism with massive walls, with four levels, a balcony and a roof made in 1677 baroque masters straini.Cele three four turrets at the roof signifies the city's judicial autonomy.
By 1556, the first floor of City Hall was located. Clock Tower in 1894 underwent a general restoration, glazed tiles were placed on the roof and the front from the lower city were painted emblems and insciptia two most important moments reminiscent of the monument. In 1898 the tower was turned into a museum.
The clock and figures
On both facades of the tower there is one huge clock dial and niches with figures. Nice front from the city contains the following figures: Peace with trumpet bottom left and olive branch, the right quarters and hours drummer beating a drum 'bronze', in between the two large female statue with blue dresses, of righteousness and justice, the same level are two small figures representing Day and
Night, marking the day actually working craftsmen of the city.
The niche front from Lower Town we have the following: bottom right Hangman, left the second drummer to mark their timpului.Deasupra flow is a revolving facility that are fixed seven oak painted figures representing the seven weekdays, with clothes and attributes of deities of the Greco-Roman pantheon and German, wearing a symbol of medieval alchemy. The first document of the clock and figurines dating from 1648. Today the old mechanisms do not exist, the current mechanism being bought in Switzerland in 1906 for the sum of 4,000 crowns.
The building, a monument of Gothic architecture, is close to Tower and current ceas.Între manpstirii Church Roman Catholic Church Bastion Street there since the 14th century, a monastic complex firm of Dominican monks and nuns Franciscan. The monastery, originally built in lap hill, covered stairs to the left, is attested since 1298 in a document in which Pope Boniface 8th granted indulgences to those who visit. After the reform, in 1556, his possessions are secularized monasteries and monks expelled from the city (under pressure Habsburg authorities, in 1723, the Franciscans back into the city), the building became the seat of public administration. In the last century monastic buildings were demolished in place amounting City Council building and the place of the old chapel of the Franciscan nuns built the present church was Roman Catholic Bastion Street.
From the old church were only partially preserved walls during extensive rebuilding in the years 1484-1510. Former monastery still preserves a corridor on the north side only, the current form dates from 1677. Dwelling, built in the church-hall, representative of the Gothic style, is the main body consists of three ships of equal height, size church reach 44.5 m long and 12.6 meters wide, in architecture and monuments are obvious elements of Baroque Prague , spread in second half of the 17th century in Central Europe. Objects of artistic and historical attention retain a bronze font with a Latin inscription which proves that this work was committed by the hands of James, bell foundry in the years 1440 Mr., decorated with mythological, biblical and lilies , leading font is a copy of the Transylvanian Gothic.
A stone door frame, decorated with floral wall built in the north, by the sculptor Thomas mason in Sibiu, in 1570, is typical style renascentist.Tot a mixture of Renaissance and Baroque altar is made and, rich decorated, one of the most beautiful works of arts Transylvania, built in 1680 by sculptor and painter Johann Jeremias Stranovius West, travel guild masters, they also are the creators of the current church organ.
After Transylvania became an autonomous principality, following the development of trade with the East, city and guilds wealthier seniors are proud and felt a debt of honor to adorn pews and carpet mats orientale.35 also of great artistic value in the 16th and Sat 17 formed dowry church ornament.
Clock Tower was built as the main entrance tower. This was very well fortified, being defended by three gates. The gate is located under a canopy of passing beneath the House of Culture today Ciprian Porumbescu. Court access road to the second gate, overwhelms you with majesty and form massive tower Barbacan. A second gate closes massive oak doors, reinforced with iron bars, and the third gate was embedded in the wall of the pulley tower and rises like a guillotine. This has been kept until 1867.
The second entry is in the guard tower Tailors in cetatii.Aceasta the opposite side is the only access to cars in the city, being formed of two arches that contained two metal gates, also raised by pulleys.
Plan is a square prism, relatively small, with a roof simplu.Forma recommend it as one of the oldest towers, perhaps making that first part of the city defense system.
25 m high, it starts from a square base, then becomes pentagonal and expands to become octagonal, while the roof has lost inscription hexagonal.O plan stated that in 1583, repairs were made and probably all then its artillery bastion built from Lower Town.
Probably dating from the thirteenth century, this tower was part of the original fortification on top dealului.De square plan, with simple forms, is today home guard the cemetery.
From Rope Tower, the city wall to the northeast down to the Butchers' Tower. Portion of wall between the two towers was kept intact so you can see the stages of evolution. Butchers Renaissance Tower looks like a raised octagonal prism on a plan to get the hex field artillery firing over the small bastion in front of him.
Located at very short distance from Tower Butchers, modest in size and shape on a square plan, repaired and raised after 1676, probably dating from the fifteenth century.
This requires simplicity and massiveness and can be dated from the fourteenth century during the fire din1676 lea.In pulberaria city located here exploded, destroying much of the tower.
Located in the extreme northeast of the castle hill, the tower was mentioned in 1521, rebuilt in 1650 and modified in 1681, he imprint wearing baroque. The tower was equipped with an artillery stronghold, demolished in 1846.
Built in 1631, is a flanking tower, remarkable for its massiveness. His role was to protect the Church and Monastery in case of siege. In 1631 the tower was built a bulwark between Smiths and Coopers Tower, but was later demolished.
This tower, together with Bastion Castaldo, was once the city's key defense system. In 1706.in during a siege bastion was blown up and some of the walls. Subsequently, jewelry tower was struck by lightning in 1809 and burned in 1863 was demolished and turned into a gym. In 1935 it was transformed into a mortuary chapel.
Castle Hill can be climbed the 175 steps of the Covered Stair or `on` round, right street, where you can see one of the best preserved portions of the fortress.
Near the high school is Church on the Hill, if the clock tower has become an iconic image of the city, the church is the image of its history. It is the most valuable architectural monument of Sighisoara, one of the representative buildings of the Gothic style in our country. The researchers agreed that the current church was built on the site of a fortress existence before 1200. The hill on which the church was a place of refuge that locals should it be strengthened, perhaps, always to an emergency.
However, the coming of the Saxons must have been on a small hill fort, whose defense is the current tower bell tower, opposite the tower there was a church later on turned into the crypt. The first mention we have of the Church on the Hill 1345 in a document given by Louis 1 which shows, among other things, that are faithful King sighisorenii and build a church dedicated to St. Nicholas.
Sf.Iosif Roman Catholic Church built in 1894, after demolition of Franciscan nuns, is in the citadel, near the wall. Built in eclectic style by architect Sighisoara Letz, the church underwent repairs after the fire inside of March 22, 1983. Current organ is bought from a Saxon church nearby and built by Karl Einschenk in 1908.
Church lepers located in Lower Town on the Great str.Stefan No. 34 is a gothic monument sec.XV. Was transformed between 1647-1684 in a small church that served the leper asylum, west with a pulpit from which preached to the sick.
Cornesti Orthodox Church located at the entrance to town from Targu-Mures, dedicated to Virgin's entrance into the church sanctuary is the first stone of the Romanian Christian. Built in 1788-1797 place of a wooden church while the priest Stephen Balas Sacele-Brasov, is a monument of orthodox neocleclasic adapted requirements. Are preserved since: bell, a pall (liturgical veil) and a gold cup. Mural painting is the work of artist Benjamin inside Precup 1983-1984. Old iconostasis painted by John Pop in Brasov was given to the jack Romanian monastery, the actual dates from 1997 and is carved in wood by the artist Hutanu of Bacau.
Orthodox Cathedral located on the north shore of Great Tarnava, dedicated to Holy Trinity is built between 1934-1937, during Mayor Aurel Mosora by Dumitru Petrescu Gopes architect. Interior painting is due A.Demian painter.
Venetian House, old patrician house, is so named because ogival windows and double doors, arch signed trilobat.Isi appearance due to modernization made in the last century in the spirit neogoticului.In the eighteenth century belonged to the city mayor, Stephen Mann.
Vlad Dracul House is one of the oldest buildings in the city is left to small markets Clock Tower. The building has an air of simplicity and was once the official residence, belonging to the royal city mayor or county lord. Here was established between 1431-1435 Vlad Dracul son of Mircea the Batran.In that time was founded (probably in the cellars of the house) a hereghie money (cash). The floor was installed Weapons Museum, which was later moved. Now the building is the restaurant.
Deer house named after the deer head mounted on the corner building is a building Transylvanian Renaissance, probably dating from the eighteenth century. Notable and its forms are robust and balanced, arching floor, plaster stone frames and small bottle of window facing piata.Restaurarea current house began in 1988, unfinished, was then taken over in 1997 the association Restauro Messerschmitt that work completed in 2001. The restoration revealed the coffered ceilings, a room painted with inscription and exterior painting. Currently, building highly functional, modern bed and breakfast includes a café-restaurant with traditional dishes and a Roman-German cultural center, all the European standards.
City market in the past called Petofi Square. It is surrounded by several noble families living houses in town. These houses dating from the eighteenth century and even in the late seventeenth century. Here fairs were held, but only trades they could open the city's leading merchandise here. The judging process here resemble capital in the eyes of the crowd here was located and imfamiei pole. Practically the whole city life in the market place.
Square Fortress Bastion Street emerges that is the House with shingles, a traditional house of the craftsman. House houses the Center for Youth in the German Forum of Sighisoara, where he held numerous training courses for youth and hosts an Internet-Café.
Memorial House N.D.Cocea
Cuza Voda street, number 10, she found shelter after World War NDCocea writer and publicist, tireless fighter for the ideals of freedom and progress of the people. He managed to work with local organizations of the proletariat and hold small conferences, setting out its comments on political events
Old school building on the Hill (Haltrich)
Built between 1607-1608, was multi-storey in 1901. The Annex building located on the main inscription found words: Schola Seminarium Republicae (School-Seminar of the Republic), dating from 1619 and indicating a type of secondary school level, with Latin as the language of instruction. In 1790 the present school building begins, consisting only of ground and first floor.
Memorial House Chendi
Hilary Chendi lived in 1890 at numarul3 N.Balcescu street. He was an active staff of the journal sower, which occur in Bucharest. Judicious and incisive critic of German high school in Sighisoara and locals him immortalized by a bust and a commemorative plaque placed on the house where he lived.
Memorial House Boiu
Boiu Zechariah was the first graduate school of the German Roman city. Speaker of mind, man of wide culture, gave the school carefully. Memorial House is situated near the City Hospital.
Bastion Street, an interest for the present house at number 4, a typical system of housing construction in the Middle Ages. Renovation has left its original shape, the roof came off serving both the ascent directly yields the bridge and as a means of defense. Currently, the basement there is an Internet Café.
Renaissance is an octagonal prism Hexagonal Raised on a plan to get over the small bastion firing field artillery in front of him ..
Kadmat Beach Resort (%0484-4011134; from €185 per person; a) has 28 modern cottages, administered by Mint Valley and can be reached by overnight boa...
The village located on this 2.7-sq-km island has several mosques, which you can visit if dressed modestly. There’s no alcohol on the island. Agat...
Comprising a string of 36 palm-covered, white sand-skirted coral islands 300km off the coast of Kerala, Lakshadweep is as stunning as it is isolated. ...
Under the Kolathiri rajas, Kannur was a major port bristling with international trade – explorer Marco Polo christened it a ‘great emporium of spi...
Ask any Keralan what the prettiest part of their state is and most will whisper: Wayanad. Encompassing part of a remote forest reserve that spills int...